Free University of Berlin

In the subproject at Freie Universität Berlin, we are investigating the interplay between traumatic experiences, the regulation of the psychobiological stress system (hypothalamic-pituitary-adrenal axis, HHNA), and the mental health of women after an unwanted pregnancy. Specifically, we are interested in whether traumatic experiences increase the risk of developing mental illness after a biographical event such as an unintended pregnancy. Clinical-psychological diagnostics are performed by questionnaires and standardized clinical interviews conducted by trained psychologists. To investigate the biological processes we use the method of hair cortisol analysis, which gives us information about the activity of the HHNA during and after the unwanted pregnancy.

For more information on the ELSA@FUBerlin study, click HERE.

TEAM

Prof. Dr. Christine Knaevelsrud has headed the Department of Clinical Psychological Intervention at Freie Universität Berlin since 2010 and is a licensed psychological psychotherapist for behavioral therapy. She researches the efficacy and effective factors of digital psychotherapeutic interventions, especially for post-traumatic stress disorder and depression.

Prof. Dr. Sarah Schumacher

CO-SUBPROJECT MANAGER

Prof. Dr. Sarah Schumacher was a research associate at the Department of Clinical Psychological Intervention at Freie Universität Berlin until October 2020 and has taken over the professorship for Clinical Psychology and Psychotherapy at the Health and Medical University Potsdam for the winter semester 2020/21. Sarah Schumacher is a licensed psychological psychotherapist (specialized in behavioral therapy). She conducts research on psychobiological indicators and predictors of successful cognitive-behavioral therapy interventions. Another focus of her research is in the area of women's health. Here she leads research projects on the experience of stress and the development of psychological symptoms during phases of hormonal change in women.

Meike Blecker (M.Sc).

RESEARCH ASSOCIATE

Meike Blecker, M.Sc. Psychology, has been working at the Department of Clinical Psychological Intervention at Freie Universität Berlin since 2021. In her research, she focuses on women-specific aspects of mental health, especially hormonal processes, and on experiences women have during and after childbirth.

Dr. Sinha Engel

RESEARCH ASSOCIATE

Dr. Sinha Engel has been working at the Department of Clinical Psychological Intervention at Freie Universität Berlin since 2016 and has been training as a psychological psychotherapist at the Institute for Behavior Therapy Berlin since 2019. She researches hormonal systems and gender differences in the development and treatment of post-traumatic stress disorder.

Hannah Klusmann (M.Sc.)

RESEARCH ASSOCIATE

Hannah Klusmann, M.Sc. Psychology, has been working at the Department of Clinical Psychological Interventions at Freie Universität Berlin since 2015. She is doing her doctorate and research on women-specific aspects of stress and depression, especially in the context of hormonal changes, such as the menstrual cycle.

Stephanie Häring (M.Sc.)

RESEARCH ASSOCIATE

Stephanie Häring, M.Sc. Psychology, has been working on her doctorate at the Department of Clinical Psychological Intervention at Freie Universität Berlin since 2021 and has been working in research and teaching at the Institute for Gender Research in Medicine at Charité-Universitätsmedizin Berlin since 2019. Her work focuses on gender-sensitive prevention and intervention research.

Elisabeth Conrad

STUDENT ASSISTANT

Elisabeth Conrad has been working as a student assistant in the ELSA project at Freie Universität Berlin since January 2022. She is studying psychology at the FU Berlin.

Jule Käselau (B.Sc.)

STUDENT ASSISTANT

Jule Käselau, B.Sc. Psychology, has been working as a student assistant in the ELSA project at Freie Universität Berlin since February 2021. She is studying psychology at the FU Berlin in the master's program with a focus on: clinical psychology and health psychology.

en_USEN

Freie Universität Berlin

Im Teilprojekt an der Freien Universität Berlin wird das Zusammenspiel zwischen traumatischen Erfahrungen, der Regulation des psychobiologischen Stresssystems (Hypothalamus-Hypophysen-Nebennierenrinden-Achse, HHNA) und der psychischen Gesundheit von Frauen nach einer ungewollten Schwangerschaft erforscht. Konkret interessieren wir uns dafür, ob traumatische Erfahrungen das Risiko, nach einem biographischen Ereignis wie einer ungewollten Schwangerschaft psychisch zu erkranken, erhöhen. Die klinisch-psychologische Diagnostik erfolgt durch Fragebögen und standardisierte klinische Interviews, die von geschulten Psycholog*innen durchgeführt werden. Zur Erforschung der biologischen Prozesse nutzen wir die Methode der Haarcortisol-Analyse, welche uns Aufschluss über die Aktivität der HHNA während und nach der ungewollten Schwangerschaft gibt.

TEAM

Prof.in Dr.in Christine Knaevelsrud leitet seit 2010 den Arbeitsbereich für Klinisch-Psychologische Intervention der Freien Universität Berlin und ist approbierte Psychologische Psychotherapeutin für Verhaltenstherapie. Sie erforscht die Wirksamkeit und Wirkfaktoren digitaler psychotherapeutischer Interventionen, insbesondere für die Posttraumatische Belastungsstörung und Depression.

Prof. Dr. Sarah Schumacher

CO-TEILPROJEKTLEITUNG

Prof.in Dr.in Sarah Schumacher war bis Oktober 2020 Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin am Arbeitsbereich Klinisch-Psychologische Intervention der Freien Universität Berlin und hat zum Wintersemester 2020/21 die Professur für Klinische Psychologie und Psychotherapie der Health and Medical University Potsdam übernommen. Sarah Schumacher ist approbierte Psychologische Psychotherapeutin (Fachkunde Verhaltenstherapie). Sie erforscht psychobiologische Indikatoren und Prädiktoren erfolgreicher kognitiv-verhaltenstherapeutischer Interventionen. Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt ihrer Forschung liegt im Bereich der Frauengesundheit. Hier leitet sie Forschungsprojekte zum Stresserleben und der Entwicklung psychischer Symptome in Phasen hormoneller Veränderungen bei Frauen.

Dr. Sinha Engel

WISSENSCHAFTLICHE MITARBEITERIN

Dr.in Sinha Engel arbeitet seit 2016 am Arbeitsbereich für Klinisch-Psychologische Intervention der Freien Universität Berlin und absolviert seit 2019 die Ausbildung zur Psychologischen Psychotherapeutin am Institut für Verhaltenstherapie Berlin. Sie erforscht Hormonsysteme und Geschlechterunterschiede bei der Entstehung und Behandlung der posttraumatischen Belastungsstörung.

Hannah Klusmann (M.Sc.)

WISSENSCHAFTLICHE MITARBEITERIN

Hannah Klusmann, M.Sc. Psychologie, arbeitet seit 2015 am Arbeitsbereich für Klinisch-Psychologische Interventionen der Freien Universität Berlin. Sie promoviert und forscht zu frauenspezifischen Aspekten von Stress und Depression, insbesondere im Zusammenhang mit hormonellen Veränderungen, wie dem Menstruationszyklus.

Stephanie Häring (M.Sc.)

WISSENSCHAFTLICHE MITARBEITERIN

Stephanie Häring, M.Sc. Psychologie, promoviert seit 2021 am Arbeitsbereich für Klinisch-Psychologische Intervention der Freien Universität Berlin und ist seit 2019 am Institut für Ge-schlechterforschung in der Medizin der Charité-Universitätsmedizin Berlin in Forschung und Lehre tätig. Schwerpunkte ihrer Arbeit liegen in der geschlechtersensiblen Präventions- und Interventionsforschung.

Claudia Kapp (B.Sc.)

WISSENSCHAFTLICHE MITARBEITERIN

Claudia Kapp, Bsc. Psychologie, ist seit 2020 an der Freien Universität Berlin in der Forschung tätig. Thematische Schwerpunkte Ihrer Arbeit sind die frauenspezifischen Einflussfaktoren von psychischer Gesundheit, Depression und Traumafolgestörungen.

Jule Käselau (B.Sc.)

STUDENTISCHE HILFSKRAFT

Jule Käselau, B.Sc. Psychologie, arbeitet seit Februar 2021 als studentische Hilfskraft im ELSA Projekt an der Freien Universität Berlin. Sie studiert an der FU Berlin im Master Psychologie mit dem Schwerpunkt: Klinische Psychologie und Gesundheitspsychologie.

Noemi Lücking (B.Sc.)

STUDENTISCHE HILFSKRAFT

Noemi Lücking, B. Sc. Psychologie, arbeitet seit Januar 2021 als studentische Hilfskraft am Arbeitsbereich für Klinisch-Psychologische Intervention der Freien Universität Berlin. Sie studiert Psychologie im Master mit dem Schwerpunkt Klinische Psychologie und Beratungspsychologie.