iStock.com/natalypaint

Ulm University

The focus of the subproject at the Department of Psychiatry and Psychotherapy II at the University of Ulm is on unwanted pregnancies in women with psychological stress. On the one hand, psychologically stressed women are confronted with special challenges and risks in dealing with an unwanted pregnancy. On the other hand, an unwanted pregnancy can produce or intensify psychological stress.

We first assess the psychological stress of women with unintended pregnancies and related contextual factors using standardized instruments. Based on this, we conduct biographical narrative interviews with a subsample of affected women in order to better understand the complex life situations and the handling of an unintended pregnancy as well as the special support needs.

TEAM

Sociologist, head of the working group Qualitative Research in Social Psychiatry at the Department of Psychiatry and Psychotherapy II at the University of Ulm. Research interests include gender, childbearing and parenthood, violence, peer work. 

Dr. Susanne Jaeger

RESEARCH ASSOCIATE

Dr. Susanne Jaeger has been working as a research associate with changing research projects in the team of care research Weissenau of the ZfP Südwürttemberg / Clinic for Psychiatry and Psychotherapy I of the University of Ulm since 2005. Her focus is on the topics of quality of life of people with mental illness, effects of psychosocial support services, patient autonomy and coercive experience.

Yamara Wessling, M.A.

RESEARCH ASSOCIATE

Yamara-Monika Wessling, Magistra Artium in Ethnology, studied and taught at the University of Mainz. For her doctoral project, she lived in East African Rwanda for 16 months and researched the connections between gender and social classes. In the ELSA PSY project at the University of Ulm, she now conducts qualitative research on unintended pregnancies among women with psychological distress. Her thematic focus is gender, sexuality, social inequality and biography.

Sophia Just

student assistant

Sophia Just is a bachelor student of psychology at the University of Ulm. Since 2021, she has been supporting the ELSA PSY project at the Department of Psychiatry and Psychotherapy II at the University of Ulm as a research assistant.

Anabel Becker

Interviewer

Anabel Becker is a master student of Gender Studies at the University of Freiburg. She is writing her master's thesis as part of the ELSA PSY project. In her Bachelor's degree, she studied German and Psychology with a focus on language, gender, sexuality, sexualized violence and migration.

Stephanie Göbel

Interviewer

Stephanie Göbel is a master student of social work at the FH Mittweida. She is writing a review paper within ELSA PSY focusing on abortion and psychological distress. She completed her bachelor's degree in cultural studies. She also brings many years of experience in psychiatric care as a health care and nursing professional.

Saskia Soysal

Interviewer

Saskia Soysal is a Master's student at the Department of Social Work and Health at Kiel UAS. In her Bachelor's degree, she studied educational sciences and ethnology with a focus on sexualized violence, dissociative identity structure and cultural identities. In the ELSA PSY project, she is conducting research on unwanted pregnancies among women with mental illness.

en_USEN

iStock.com/natalypaint

Universität Ulm

Im Fokus des Teilprojektes an der Klinik für Psychiatrie und Psychotherapie II der Universität Ulm stehen ungewollte Schwangerschaften bei Frauen mit psychischen Belastungen. Einerseits sind psychisch belastete Frauen mit besonderen Herausforderungen und Risiken im Umgang mit einer ungewollten Schwangerschaft konfrontiert. Andererseits kann eine ungewollte Schwangerschaft psychische Belastungen hervorbringen oder verstärken.

Wir erheben zunächst die psychischen Belastungen von Frauen mit ungewollten Schwangerschaften sowie damit zusammenhängende Kontextfaktoren anhand standardisierter Instrumente. Darauf aufbauend führen wir mit einer Teilstichprobe betroffener Frauen biografisch-narrative Interviews, um die komplexen Lebenslagen und den Umgang mit einer ungewollten Schwangerschaft sowie die speziellen Unterstützungsbedarfe besser zu verstehen.

TEAM

Soziologin, Leiterin der Arbeitsgruppe Qualitative Forschung in der Sozialpsychiatrie an der Klinik für Psychiatrie und Psychotherapie II der Universität Ulm. Forschungsschwerpunkte sind u.a. Geschlecht, Kinderwunsch und Elternschaft, Gewalt, Peerarbeit. 

Dr. Susanne Jaeger

WISSENSCHAFTLICHE MITARBEITERIN

Dr. Susanne Jaeger ist seit 2005 als wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin mit wechselnden Forschungsprojekten im Team der Versorgungsforschung Weissenau des ZfP Südwürttemberg / Klinik für Psychiatrie und Psychotherapie I der Universität Ulm tätig. Ihre Schwerpunkte liegen auf den Themen Lebensqualität von Menschen mit psychischen Erkrankungen, Wirkungen psychosozialer Unterstützungsangebote, Patientenautonomie und Zwangserleben.

Yamara Wessling, M.A.

WISSENSCHAFTLICHE MITARBEITERIN

Yamara-Monika Wessling, Magistra Artium der Ethnologie, hat an der Universität Mainz studiert und gelehrt. Für ihr Promotionsprojekt lebte sie 16 Monate im ostafrikanischen Ruanda und erforschte die Zusammenhänge von Geschlecht und sozialen Klassen. Im Projekt ELSA PSY an der Universität Ulm führt sie nun die qualitative Forschung über ungewollte Schwangerschaften bei Frauen mit psychischen Belastungen durch. Ihre thematischen Schwerpunkte sind Geschlecht, Sexualität, soziale Ungleichheit und Biografie.

Sophia Just

studentische Hilfskraft

Sophia Just ist Bachelor-Studentin der Psychologie an der Universität Ulm. Seit 2021 unterstützt sie als wissenschaftliche Hilfskraft das Projekt ELSA PSY an der Klinik für Psychiatrie und Psychotherapie II der Universität Ulm.

Chloé Rascacea

wissenschaftliche Hilfskraft

Chloé Rascacea ist Bachelor-Studentin der Psychologie an der Universität Ulm. Seit Mitte 2020 arbeitet sie als wissenschaftliche Hilfskraft bei verschiedenen Forschungsprojekten an der Klinik für Psychiatrie und Psychotherapie II der Universität Ulm mit.

Anabel Becker

Interviewerin

Anabel Becker ist Master-Studentin der Gender Studies an der Universität in Freiburg. Sie verfasst im Rahmen des Projekts ELSA PSY ihre Masterarbeit. Im Bachelor studierte sie Germanistik und Psychologie mit den Themenschwerpunkten Sprache, Geschlecht, Sexualität, sexualisierte Gewalt und Migration.

Stephanie Göbel

Interviewerin

Stephanie Göbel ist Masterstudierende der Sozialen Arbeit an der FH Mittweida. Sie verfasst im Rahmen von ELSA PSY eine Übersichtsarbeit mit dem Schwerpunkt Schwangerschaftsabbruch und psychische Belastung. Ihren Bachelor hat sie in Kulturwissenschaften absolviert. Sie bringt zudem langjährige Erfahrung in der psychiatrischen Pflege als Gesundheits- und Krankenschwester mit.

Saskia Soysal

Interviewerin

Saskia Soysal ist Master-Studentin am Fachbereich Soziale Arbeit und Gesundheit der FH Kiel. Im Bachelor studierte sie Erziehungswissenschaften und Ethnologie mit den Schwerpunkten sexualisierte Gewalt, Dissoziative Identitätsstruktur und kulturelle Identitäten. Im Projekt ELSA PSY forscht sie zu ungewollten Schwangerschaften bei Frauen mit psychischen Erkrankungen.